December Update

A big thanks to all choir members for a wonderful December performance season, consisting of three concerts and a coffeehouse! Thank you as well to all parents for their continuing support, particularly during the last couple of busy weeks.  Eastview and our choir was represented extraordinarily well throughout the community, and everyone should be proud!

Looking ahead, our next big event is the Ontario Vocal Festival, which takes place on Wednesday, February 28. This is our opportunity to qualify for Musicfest Canada next year, enabling us to go ahead with the proposed 2019 trip to Ottawa/Boston (which seems to be the more popular travel option over Calgary in 2020).  It is therefore highly important that we are well rehearsed for this, and that all choir members participate.  Detailed information and a permission form will be sent out in the new year, but for your preliminary planning on February 28:

  • Members of the mixed chamber choir will need to arrive at Eastview for a 7:30AM departure.  Everyone else will depart at 8:00AM.
  • Members of the female chamber choir will be arriving back at the school at approximately 6:00PM.  Everyone else will arrive back at around 3:30PM.

Please let me know ASAP if you anticipate any problems with this timing.

The upcoming rehearsal schedule will be impacted by the Christmas Holidays and exams, and will be as follows:

Concert Choir – Rehearsals will go until 4:00pm until Feb 28

  • Mon Dec 18
  • Tues Jan 9*
  • Mon Jan 15
  • Tues Feb 6*
  • Mon Feb 12
  • Tues Feb 20*
  • Mon Feb 26

*Tuesday rehearsals occur on weeks when a Monday rehearsal is not possible due to a holiday or a staff meeting.  These rehearsals are “best effort”: I’d like everyone to try to be there, but since it is not the day you initially committed to I do not expect you to rearrange a prior conflict.

Chamber Choirs – Rehearsals will go until 4:00pm until February 28

  • Wed Jan 10
  • Wed Jan 17
  • Wed Feb 7
  • Wed Feb 14
  • Wed Feb 21

Senior Vocal Ensemble – Rehearsals will go until 4:00pm as usual

  • Mon Jan 8
  • Mon Feb 5

As well, we are looking at doing our annual single-day field trip to three of Eastview’s feeder schools at some point in February. We will provide details when we have them.

Happy Holidays to all of you!!